Home / Series / The Experiment / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 The Stanford Prison Experiment

    • May 11, 2002
    • BBC Two

    The story of the infamous Stanford Prison Experiment, a psychological exercise designed to examine the nature of good and evil. In the summer of 1971, a group of American students volunteered to adopt the roles of prisoners and guards in a specially controlled environment - the experiment was terminated after less than a week when it became clear that the participants were being adversely affected.

  • S01E02 Conflict

    • May 14, 2002
    • BBC Two

    The prisoners start to pick off weak guards, the most powerful prisoner is sentenced to solitary confinement, and the guards rumble an attempted break-out.

  • S01E03 Order

    • May 15, 2002
    • BBC Two

    A new prisoner arrives, a master set of keys is stolen, and the two most forceful prisoners come head-to-head in a showdown for leadership.

  • S01E04 Rebellion

    • May 21, 2002
    • BBC Two

    The oppressive conditions are wearing down the patience of some of the prisoners, whilst the anxiety of the guards is mounting. A reformed crack addict and an Evangelical christian form an unlikely alliance. And the guards find themselves taken by surprise when three prisoners launch a nighttime revolt.

  • S01E05 Tyranny

    • May 22, 2002
    • BBC Two

    Twelve prisoners and guards join together to form a new and just society but after only a few hours four of them launch a bid for power that shocks and appalls their fellow inmates.

Additional Specials